In 2022 we continue with pastoral support for our young people at Whakatane High School.

We have Deans at each year level to make sure parents have a clear point of connection to the school at their child’s year level (in addition to this, parents will also have a connection via their child’s Student Mentor).

The Deans are responsible for developing a wellbeing program that supports students to be confident, resilient and connected learners. This change has been developed through self-review, student and whanau voice.

See below for the list of Deans at each year level, and their contact details:

Year 9

Laura Abbott


Sam Robinson


Year 10

Nic Christie


Holly Shanks


Year 11

Ngaire Ranapia


Jim Hagger


Year 12

Dwayne Hudson



Year 13

Aaron Hurley




Search Site