In 2024 we continue with pastoral support for our young people at Whakatane High School.

We have Deans at each year level to make sure parents have a clear point of connection to the school at their child’s year level (in addition to this, parents will also have a connection via their child’s Student Mentor).

The Deans are responsible for developing a wellbeing program that supports students to be confident, resilient and connected learners. This change has been developed through self-review, student and whanau voice. We also have three new Deans for greater support of our Te Aka Matua students.

See below for the list of Deans at each year level, and their contact details:

Year 9

Jarrod Braddock

Julia Blakeway

Year 10

Andie Eves

James (Jim) Hagger

Year 11

Laura Abbott

Aaron Hurley

Year 12

Scott Marrow



Year 13

Ngaire Ranapia



Te Aka Matua Teina

Caleb Tashkoff

Talei Bryant

Te Aka Matua Tuakana

Amy Hudson




Search Site



Click here

Request a  Prospectus

Request a Prospectus

Request a

Click here

Lest We Forget

Lest We

Remembering our students